Month: November 2008

  • More “School Projects”

    Placing the number cards in order.

  • Playing in the Snow!!!

    Yesterday, we got to have loads of fun in the snow.  We started in the front yard and then migrated to the back.  I’ll give you two guesses what she did with that snowball!

    She ate some snow:

    And went sledding close to the gardens:

    And snow angels.  She remembered how to do these all by herself.  I didn’t say anything about them:

    We had FUN!  I’m relieved I enjoyed the snow.  I had convinced myself I was not looking forward to it!

  • Listening in on Lydia: Birthday Conversations (I forgot about these)

    M:  I’ve heard that cake is full of calories.

    D:  I guess that’s why they say, “let them eat cake”

    L:  But don’t eat all of it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    ______________________________________

    Later heard:

    D:  Do you know what I’m talking about?

    L:  Not at all.

    (Not sure where she picked up this one!

  • Writing a List

    Lydia has enjoyed using real pens lately.

    Let’s see.  What was I suppose to remember to put on the list?……………………………………I remember!

    Her list:

    “Mommy, I folded it just like you fold your list!”

  • Listening in on Lydia

    L:  Mama, can you blow a smooch on my tongue?

    M:  Oh, honey, did you bite your tongue? 

    L: (sticks out tongue)

    M:  You sure did, it look very red!  (blows smooch)

    L:  My teeth said sorry to my tongue!

  • Listening in on Lydia

    L:  My head is stuck on my neck! 
    (Said while pushing and pulling on head, in an almost alarmed tone.)

    M:  Really?

    L:  Yeah, it won’t come off!  It’s stuck!

    M:  Is that good?

    L:  Yeah!

  • Counting

    Lydia just counted to 39 all by herself! 

  • Lydia Dressed Herself Today!

    We almost always have to give Lydia and bath or shower because of her hair these days.  So, after we got her all dried off, I laid out her clothes and showed her how to check to make sure she got them on right.  I went to get ready for the day and she got all dressed in the meantime!  GOOD JOB LYDIA!  Here is the outfit:

    She struggles with tights on her own, so we’re sticking to leggings for now!

    And Lydia helps clear the floor for vacuuming, and this is where she put her friends.  I thought it was fun and got a picture of her with them.

  • Bike Garage

    I made this (with Lydia’s help!) for Daddy last week.  He rides his bike to work almost every morning and before we just draped a tarp over the bikes.  Our friends made a cool bike garage that inspired this one.  It has passed the first test of snow! 

    Not super beautiful, but very functional!

  • Piano playing

    Daddy’s been playing the piano often and Lydia has really enjoyed it!  A not so planned duet.